ABCUSD Board of Education Reorganizes

ABCUSD Board of Education Selects New Officers

December 14, 2022 - The ABCUSD Board of Education selected new officers and swore in recently elected members at the December 13, 2022, regular meeting. Board members Ernie Nishii, Dr. Olga Rios, and Soo Yoo were welcomed back and sworn in after having been recently reelected. The Board then selected Brad Beach to serve as President, Sophia Tse as Vice President, and Ernie Nishii as Clerk for the coming year. 

“I am honored to have been selected by my colleagues to serve as president,” said Mr. Beach. “I would like to thank Mrs. Yoo for her service over the past year, and I look forward to serving the students, families, and staff of ABC as President. We have work to do, and I’m happy to help lead the District through what’s to come.”

Board members are selected by their school board colleagues to serve as officers every calendar year. Members Mr. Nishii, Dr. Rios, and Mrs. Yoo were reelected to represent their respective trustee areas in the November 8, 2022, election. 

“Congratulations to our recently reelected board members and new officers,” said Interim Superintendent Mr. Toan Nguyen. “We look forward to working with them during the coming year as we face a myriad of challenges before us.”

The ABCUSD Board of Education is made up of seven members, each representing a trustee area. The current board is comprised of the following members:

Dr. Christopher Apodaca, Trustee Area 7 - Hawaiian Gardens

Mr. Brad Beach, Trustee Area 4 - Cerritos

Dr. Michael Eugenio, Trustee Area 1 - Artesia

Mr. Ernie Nishii, Trustee Area 3 - Cerritos

Dr. Olga Rios, Trustee Area 6 - Lakewood

Mrs. Sophia Tse, Trustee Area 5 - Cerritos

Mrs. Soo Yoo, Trustee Area 2 - Cerritos